Hi Marietta, (March 10, 2016)
Your book was fantastic! I loved the surprise ending! I just didn't see it coming that it was ___________, until the very end.  Keep up the good work!  Let me know when your next book is coming out! I met you at Barnes and Noble on Rainbow and Lake Meade, last year and bought your book--I was with my sister.  
Your Sister in Christ!
Charmaine Reiter


A good read.....
By Idrissa Uqdah on April 25, 2015
This book was a really good read.
I came to like Evelyn as a main character and I suspected that she had an interest in solving crimes by the way she seemed to enjoy solving the gospel choir murder.
The book was pretty well written. The author took the time to present a professional manuscript.
Aside from the beginning of the book; where the author took too much time in detailing what every one was wearing, I thought it flowed better once she picked up the pace.
The characters were well-fleshed out and I enjoyed the conflict in the storyline. I could have enjoyed a little more drama though.
I think Ms. Harris wrote a good book. I am looking forward to her next literary endeavor.

Behind the Curtain
By C. Fairweather on April 21, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The Gospel Choir Murder gave me a look into something about which I had no first-hand experience, an African-American touring gospel choir. I enjoyed learning about the unwritten rules that members follow. I have known the author for many years. I knew that she was the musical director for her church. I have heard her sing. I knew she grew up going on gospel choir tours. But this book allowed me ( a non-African-American woman) to go behind the curtain with her and see what she sees. And I was giving all the tour members a thorough scrutiny, because I love a mystery and I knew that someone among them was going to be a murderer.

Mystery
By Virginia Navarro on April 8, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this book it kept me guessing until the end. I would have given it a higher rating if there were not so many curse words. I know it doesn't bother a lot of people. It was a good enough book though that I wanted to finish it.


Gospel Review

Donna Simmons (April 2015)
 It was very well written and held my attention to the very end.   As I was reading the manuscript I had sooooo many theories as to “who done it”.   It wasn’t until the very end that I figured it out.  


Gospel Choir Murder
By Marietta Harris
2015  Reviewed by Angie Mangino
Rating: 4 stars
A foreshadowing of murder grabs readers before the first chapter begins.
“On a hot day in Las Vegas August 15, the housekeeper at the Circus hotel knocks on the door of Room 1205, but no one answers….There was a nude body on the bloody bed with a knife protruding from the neck.”
In the first chapter, readers meet Evelyn Jenkins, a member of the Gospel Choir at Gabriel Missionary Baptist Church of Oakland, California, and learn the celebrated choir will be going on tour.
The stage is set for the choir to confront the murder. “Pastor Watson had scheduled concerts in Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Phoenix, and San Diego.”
But, before that happens, readers first meet and get to know the “nine choir members, two deacons, two musicians and Jessie, the choir director” who will be on tour.
The author uses the first quarter of the story to slowly familiarize readers with their varied personalities, while gradually introducing clues needed when the murder takes center stage in Chapter 12, to right until the story’s satisfying resolution at the end.


                  Thou Shalt Kill

When Evelyn Jenkins sets up a booth at Oakland’s Baptist convention, seeking new clients for her travel business, she’s not expecting to end up in the middle of another murder investigation. Or to find herself gazing into a detective’s fine brown eyes.  She never does get to hear the dynamic preacher who has become the talk of the town.   


Reviews

Reviewed by Buffie Peterson

Marietta Harris has taken the murder mystery genre to a whole new level. Normally, I can figure out “who done it?” within the first few chapters. Not this book. Just as you think you have figured it all out, Harris throws a curve ball at you. The development of the characters is superb and the story line is so well thought out, you will forget you are reading fiction. Ms. Harris has an impeccable ability to weave one mean tale! We will see more of Evelyn Jenkins, I am sure. I cannot wait to read the next installment. This is one author to keep your eye on. 











                                                            Reviews from readers

                                THE OTHER SIDE OF ALZHEIMER’S, a caregiver’s story
 


By Maria Shriver on October 28, 2010
“The steps you have taken to spread awareness about this mind blowing disease are extraordinary.
Enjoyable read, relatable topic, great book." 


We are not alone..., August 8, 2015
By  Itsg8todream
This review is from: The Other Side of Alzheimer's, a Caregiver's Story (Paperback)
Sometimes it's good to know and hear the stories of other experiencing the same challenges... it's never easy to see loved ones fall victim to sickness, this book will share truths about caring for an Alzheimer patient... an Alzheimer loved one...


Claudette Lockhart on October 2, 2013
In this ambitious and insightful work Marietta Harris delivers a heartfelt account from a caregiver's perspective. I wholeheartedly identified with this book. It was most helpful and put many unanswered questions into perspective. As a former caretaker of both parents, I did not understand many of the behaviors I encountered throughout the years I who cared for them. After their passing I was left with many questions, and some regrets regarding my care for them; this book gave closure. Hats off to the Author.


Evelyn Palfrey, Author 
Sent: Monday, March 5, 2012 11:01 PM
S
ubject: [EP] The Other Side of Alzheimers
I read this book, and enjoyed it a lot. It's worth a read. If you haven't faced this terrible disease up close and personal--and you keep living--you will. Either as a victim or a caregiver.


By C. Fairweather on June 12, 2010
This amazing book gives an honest view of the life of a woman who is drawn into the role of caregiver. But it goes even further, and depicts that caregiving role in the context of the woman's whole life: from her San Francisco childhood with her tight-knit family, to the spreading of her wings, her response to family needs, and life after. What a journey we take with her!


Great book
By Peter on February 28, 2014
Very descriptive story of the life and trials of a daughter dealing with her independent mother diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. Easy to read. Easy to associate with her sad story.


By C. Carver on June 14, 2010
I'm only half way through this book but I love it. It's so nice to read about how the author grew up just like anyone else then was thrust into unavoidable circumstances with grace and poise. Even through difficulties, we can all keep ourselves from getting lost in our struggles. It's good to know there are people out there to relate to and to learn from. Thank you for writing this wonderful book.
Tells it the way it really is...


 By Margaret on Dec 10, 2010
Wow, I'm impressed. I really enjoyed this book. What a beautiful story. I'm going to tell me sister about this book. We've been dealing with caregiving for over a year and it does take a toil. Thanks for the book..


The Other Side of Alzheimer’s
Reviewed by Angie Mangino
When someone becomes a caregiver, one’s life takes a new direction.  Thrust into a role by circumstances, we act out of love, but one tends not to fully comprehend the full impact on oneself with the focus on the day-to-day needs of those needing the care.  As the person’s health deteriorates, so, too, does the life of the caregiver.

Harris tells first of Angie’s family life growing up, giving readers an introduction into the love with which she was raised.  She writes in a conversational tone, simply and direct, showing the sacrifices and unconditional love that a caregiver shares.  She tells of how Alzheimer’s had her mother slowly begin to disappear, as well as of the loss of her father and brother.

“I know how you feel,” said albeit with good intentions to comfort her after her mother’s death, upset her because no one knows the unique experience between two people, making each person’s survival through grief unique.  We each experience our own grief in our own way, with caregivers feeling not only loss after death, but also the new presence of all the time previously devoted to someone else who now is no longer suffering, as they must now learn to redefine a radically changed life going forward.  There is no “right” way to grieve, and no one way to survive. 

This book tells one woman’s story of caregiving and grief, in the hope others will learn through shared emotions of the challenges of being a caregiver, and of the steps for one’s own survival when no longer one.



​   Reviews from readers of

THE GOSPEL CHOIR MURDER

​​​​​Marietta​ Harris​
​A
uthor & Motivational Speaker